Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Traffic Tip Tuesdays: Reckless Driving
In an effort to promote awareness of state traffic laws, the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office will be posting excerpts of the 2018-2019 edition of The Maryland Vehicle Law Annotated on Tuesdays.
Adhering to the law will make roadways in St. Mary’s County and in Maryland safer for drivers, passengers, bicyclists, horse-and-buggy operators and pedestrians.
Reckless and negligent driving
Sec. 21-901.1. (a) Reckless driving – A person is guilty of reckless driving if he drives a motor vehicle: (1) In wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property; or (2) In a manner that indicates a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.
(b) Negligent driving – A person is guilty of negligent driving if he drives a motor vehicle in a careless or imprudent manner that endangers any property or the life or person of any individual.
The fine for reckless driving is $510 and six points assessed on a driver’s license.
The fine for negligent driving is $140 and one point on a license, but if contributing to an accident, the fine is $180 and three points on a license.