Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Traffic Tip Tuesdays: Turn Signals

In an effort to promote awareness of state traffic laws, the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office posts excerpts of the 2018-2019 edition of The Maryland Vehicle Law Annotated on Tuesdays.

Adhering to the law will make roadways in St. Mary’s County and in Maryland safer for drivers, passengers, bicyclists, horse-and-buggy operators and pedestrians.


Turn Signals

Sec. 21-604. Turning, slowing and stopping movements; required signals

(c) Required signals – A person may not, if any other vehicle might be affected by the movement, turn a vehicle until he gives an appropriate signal in the manner required by this subtitle.

(d) Where signals to be given – When required, a signal of intention to turn right or left shall be given continuously during at least the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning

The fines for a driver turning a vehicle without giving an appropriate signal as required are $90 and one point assessed on a driver’s license or $130 and three points on a license if contributing to an accident.