Wednesday, June 15, 2016

St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office Welcomes New Deputies

Seven new deputies have joined the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office. The deputies were sworn in on Friday, June 3, 2016, at the Circuit Courthouse by Ms. Joan Williams, Clerk of the Circuit Court. Later that evening, an official graduation was held at LaPlata High School in LaPlata, Maryland.                                                                                                       

Please join the Sheriff’s Office in welcoming the following new deputies:                      

Deputy Matthew R. Beyer

Deputy Shawn T. Bowie

Deputy Andrew W. Budd

Deputy Jason L. Bush

Deputy Tyler J. Payne

Deputy Shawn A. Shelko

Deputy Robert T. Trudell 

The deputies completed a 28-week entrance level training program held at the Southern Maryland Criminal Justice Academy, in Nanjemoy, Maryland, which started on November 16, 2015, and ended on June 3, 2016. The training program included extensive instruction on criminal law, constitutional law, traffic law, patrol procedures, firearms, defensive driving and first-aid. 

Deputy Andrew Budd was selected as the class speaker, and Deputy Jason L. Bush received recognition for his exemplary performance during firearms instruction. 

The deputies will now begin extensive field training with a seasoned deputy. Sheriff Tim Cameron and the men and women of the Sheriff’s Office welcome these officers to the law enforcement profession. 

Additional Photos:

Pictured L-R (Deputy J. Bush, Deputy R. Trudell, Deputy S. Shelko, Deputy A. Budd, Deputy S. Bowie,         Deputy T. Payne, Deputy M. Beyer