Wednesday, May 11, 2016

St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office Participates in Annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Day

On Tuesday, May 10, 2016, the St. Mary’s County Department of Aging & Human Services, along with Triad/SALT (Seniors and Law Enforcement Together), held their annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Day at the Southern Maryland Higher Education Center in Hollywood, MD.
Posting of the colors was presented by the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office and the Knights of Columbus, followed by the National Anthem, sung by students from the Leonardtown Middle School Chorus. St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Chaplin Steve Kooy led the invocation, memorial service, and benediction, asking everyone to “honor those who put their lives on the line every day, and thank them for what they do.”
Sheriff Cameron presented the opening remarks for the program saying, “They [law enforcement officers] have endured! Despite the danger of their jobs, they continue to serve. The manner in which they perform their jobs is an example for all of us.” He added, “We should be proud of them and thankful that each one of them is a person of demonstrated integrity and character, who chose to be a 'guardian of the community.'
Each Law Enforcement Officer of the Year received several citations from local and state delegates. The ceremony ended by recognizing the 2016 officers of the year, from agencies in St. Mary’s County.
On behalf of Sheriff Cameron and the men and women of the Sheriff’s Office, congratulations to all of the award recipients:
Deputy First Class Rozier L. Steinbach, St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office
Correctional Officer First Class Kristie L. Ardire, St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office, Corrections Division
Deputy Fire Marshall II Melissa R. Decker, Maryland State Fire Marshal, Southern Regional Office
Public Safety Officer Lori Brasko, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Department of Public Safety
Trooper First Class Casey M. Ruth, Maryland State Police – Leonardtown Barrack “T”
Patrolman First Class Joseph Figert, Patuxent River Police Department, Public Safety
Maryland State Police Civilian Pilot III Claude J. Boushey, Sr., Maryland State Police – Aviation Command
Officer First Class Jason Kreider, Maryland Department of Natural Resources Police, Southern Region – Area 4
Petty Officer Second Class Walter R. Urban IV, United States Coast Guard, St. Inigoes
Assistant State’s Attorney Jaymi Sterling, Office of the State’s Attorney

Congratulations to all of the Law Enforcement Appreciation Day award recipients from Sheriff Cameron and the men and women of the Sheriff’s Office. 

St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office Color Guard posted the colors at the Annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Day. 
(L-R DFC Alvin Beishline, Sgt. Mike Boyer, DFC Austin Schultz, and Corporal Austin Barnard.)

Photo gallery available at www.facebook/com/firstsheriff