Monday, May 2, 2016

St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office Holds Annual Awards Banquet: A Tradition of Honoring Excellence

The St. Mary’s County Sheriff's Office recently held its annual Awards Banquet, honoring outstanding service and notable contributions of correctional officers, civilians, and citizens. The Awards Banquet was held April 15, 2016, at the Bay District Fire Department.

In addition to commendations for length of service, marksman, meritorious service, and safe driving, the following awards were distributed:

Lifesaving Awards:
Corporal Matthew Rogers
Sergeant Richard Russell
Corporal Glen Knott
Deputy David Lawrence
Deputy First Class Sheena Tirpak
Corporal Thomas Seyfried
Corporal Timothy Snyder
Deputy Shane Cameron
Corporal David Corcoran
Deputy Rachael Roszell
Deputy Dustin McClure
Captain Daniel Alioto
Deputy First Class Sheena Tirpak
Sergeant Keith Moritz
Deputy First Class Rozier Steinbach
Deputy First Class Vincent Pontorno
Deputy First Class Skyler LeFave
Trooper Robert Geyer
Corporal Patrick Handy
Deputy Dale Smith

Meritorious Action:
Corporal Timothy White
Correctional Officer Ryan Rosario
Deputy First Class Rozier Steinbach
Corporal Timothy Snyder
Deputy First Class Joshua Krum
Deputy Artina Manns

Rookies of the Year:
Deputy Gerard Muschette

Correctional Officer Fernando Tafur

Stanley J. Goodwin Award:
Sergeant Brian Hartz

Civilian Employee of the Year:
Mark Clark

Correctional Officer of the Year:
Correctional Officer First Class Kristie Ardire

Deputy of the Year:
Deputy First Class Rozier Steinbach

Full program and additional photos are available at